Bad Fattitude Test Kitchen: PPK’s Puffy Pillow Pancakes

7 Jan

Image

I was cruising my reader feed when I first saw them.  The PPK’s Puffy Pillow Pancakes. I swear, everything went into slow motion and “Dreamweaver” started playing somewhere, because they wanted me.  Since I first saw them, there has been a lot of my wandering around and muttering about how I must have them.  Mr. X has accepted my crazies and knew I couldn’t be stopped until they were made. 

Happily, we had Li’l X with us this weekend.  Li’l x is four and, I’ll be honest, delightful and ridiculously cute.  Years ago, when I first met him, i declared Li’l X unfairly cute.  The kid has me in the palm of his hand and I will watch Inspector Gadget at the crack of dawn with him.  Also, he is a pancake master–kiddo knows his stuff!

So Li’l X and I followed this recipe down to the letter.  I grew up in a bisquick house and knock it as you will, I loved that my Dad made pancakes every weekend.  He made

coffee for my mom and then would have my little brother and I make pancakes with him.  It’s one of my favorite memories and one I want every little kid to

have.

My pancakes have never been wonderful.  I’ve never been able to control the heat just right, I get impatient and flip them too soon, the texture is off, the don’t puff…really, it all goes wrong.  My pancakes are always good but they’re nut the dream pancakes I want.  Until these waltzed (flipped?) into my life.

I can’t stress following the tips listed before the recipe.  Heating the pan before I started made everything right in my world.  I kid you not.  Then, the pancakes puffed like I have never seen…

Image

These levels of puff are illegal in at least 4 states.

When he finally got his plate, Li’l x looked at me and then back at the plate.  I asked him if anything was wrong and then he said, “I don’t think these are pancakes.  I think you made cake cakes.”  It took me a while (and a healthy dose of marionberry syrup) to convince him that they were in fact pancakes.  He looked at me suspiciously but little man went to town.  I definitely have a new go to recipe for this household! 

Image
2 Responses to “Bad Fattitude Test Kitchen: PPK’s Puffy Pillow Pancakes”

  1. enigmaedelweiss January 7, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    Just printed out the recipe for these. Doing a cleanse for the rest of January, but once February hits, I’m making these.

    • Brown Cow January 7, 2012 at 9:50 pm #

      Ooooo, what kind of cleanse are you doing? I feel like so many vegan recipes are iffy, but PPK recipes almost never let me down. These pancakes would be awesome with blueberries!

Leave a Reply

